Author Topic: Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth  (Read 1633 times)

pygstone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth
« on: November 02, 2019, 12:35:11 PM »
Hi All,

I received the awesome Gecho Loopsynth yesterday, it's a great device, but I can't get 'the app' to work in Windows 10 (could not detect any USB-Serial devices). I've tried to fix this without troubling the forum, but to no avail (and I've already seen the thread http://gechologic.com/support/index.php?topic=16.msg58). Here's what I tried already...

1) I ran setup.exe (and drvsetup64.exe) in folder CH314SER from the 3.4 and 3.3 versions of the driver (downloaded from Gechologic site)

2) I ran the EXE that I downloaded from the Chinese (chip manufacturer) site.

All driver installation options complete with a "The drive is successfully pre-installed in advance" message.
When I connect the Gecho using USB, a USB Serial Port (COM3) is showing in the Ports (COM & LPT) under the Device Manager (device status reporting as working properly). I also have USB Serial converter appearing under Universal Serial Bus controllers.
Depending on what driver installation option I have gone for above, I also see Microsoft Serial Ballpoint device in Mice and other pointing devices (with an exlamation to indicate it's not working properly). This last device does not always appear, so it could be a red herring.

I've tried setting the option to "force installation of unsigned drivers"
I've also tried disabling the secure boot option.

Still the app (versions 050b and 061b) can't detect any serial devices.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

pygstone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2019, 08:48:25 PM »
P.S. I forgot to mention that if I used the option to choose the driver myself ('have disk') then browse to the .inf file, then it crashed my computer. And I am using a Dell XPS Laptop - Intel Core I7, 2.8GHz, 16Gb RAM, 64-bit operating system.

Thanks again.

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2019, 09:25:32 PM »
Hi! Sorry to hear about the trouble, and thank you for the detailed description, that helps a lot! Just to confirm, you have the v1 model? I'd assume that as you are posting to the v1 related forum section.

PS: the v2 model sometimes appears as "Microsoft Serial Ballpoint device", when not detected properly. If that's what you have, it does not require drivers (or I guess they will be installed automatically in most modern systems), the app is not necessary and does not work for it - I've added a warning in red text about this to the download page but maybe you found the app linked from some other page that I forgot about?
« Last Edit: November 02, 2019, 09:59:38 PM by mario »

pygstone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2019, 03:06:36 PM »
Hi Mario,

Thanks for the reply. Sorry, I didn't realise this was the V1 section -- I just saw 'firmware' and jumped in. I'm pretty sure my Gecho Loopsynth acrylic sandwich is the V2 - I only ordered it a couple of weeks ago, and the channels on it line up with the V2 documentation.

So, how do I upgrade the firmware without the app? I feel I'm missing some of the channels e.g. I have the #31 granular sampler channel, but not channel #412 Granular sampler with chord progression.

Thanks again.

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2019, 06:25:29 PM »
Hi Simon, ah cool then! I thought you might just bought a 2nd hand unit, but that does not happen often.

The #412 has not yet been ported over to v2, as you can just play the #31 with MIDI keyboard in real time - but running a pre-programmed song there may be useful, I will add it to the next (i.e. first ever) firmware update, also a couple other things that were left out as I did not want to delay shipping.

For upgrading of the new model you either need a SD card, then it is very easy - download a file from internet and save on the card, then key in a command to Gecho. Alternatively you can do it via USB cable if your computer can run python scripts (instructions for both methods will be published with the update).

Cheers,
Mario

pygstone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho App / Windows 10 seriously will not detect Loopsynth
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2019, 08:04:14 PM »
Hi Mario,

Thanks again. It seems like there is no problem, then. The Gecho is a great little machine. I will wait patiently for the next update.

Cheers,

Simon.