Author Topic: Gecho v2 : MIDI In  (Read 2118 times)

sm2n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« on: November 29, 2019, 09:02:40 PM »
Has anyone been able to get MIDI In to control the Gecho v2, e.g. using channel 31?
I've been trying with 2 different midi keyboards, setting various MIDI channels, all to no avail... and I know the MIDI keyboards and cable are OK because if I flip the cable into my Volca Keys it works successfully, but when I plug it into my Gecho v2 all I see is a very brief L2 LED flash for each MIDI key press - but no sound triggered. Switch SW2 is correctly set to 'up'.
I also tried experimenting with channels 3121 to 3124, but there are no details of what I should be looking for to learn the test results.
I would love it if someone who has got it working could do a detailed demo and post on YouTube or similar. The demos I have seen so far are for modified v1 Gechos and just show it working, rather than step-by-step which settings they used and how they got it to work.

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2019, 10:05:13 PM »
Hi, sorry to hear about this - there is no detailed explanation because this is supposed to "just work". The LED means that data comes in, but for some reason is not parsed. To rule out accidentally changed settings, can you try to clear all with 4321-SET, power cycle, then run this again?

The receiving and transmitting MIDI channel is always "1", this will be configurable later, the option is reserved in settings menu and also mentioned in the leaflet, but I haven't had time to expand this bit yet.

The "test" channels output data to the serial debug console, you can try to connect to it with PuTTY and it might actually tell you something useful as you would see hexadecimal bytes and then we can figure out what they represent, or you will see nothing, which will also give us a clue.

This was of course tested in every unit (I'm using Modal Craft Synth 2.0 as a source and receiver for these tests) and the faintly blinking LED light means that there is nothing wrong with cables, signal comes in and the polarity is the correct one of the two MIDI standards. Theoretically it could still be a hidden fault somewhere between MIDI optocoupler and CPU, maybe a cold junction that felt apart due to vibrations in transport, but that would be surprising as this rarely ever happens at all.

If you power the unit on, clear settings, then run channel 1, then press a few MIDI keys - you should see "keyboard" LEDs ligting up, that's exactly the test I am running just before packing each unit - if you cannot get the same result this would mean that something has indeed changed with the unit.

sm2n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2019, 10:56:31 PM »
Thanks very much Mario. I will try out this method with channel 1 and let you know how I get on.

pianjet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2019, 11:48:50 AM »
Hello I have the same problem with midi in, tried different midi-keyboards  :(

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2019, 12:21:42 PM »
Can you provide more details - what keyboards, how did you connect them, what happens in which channel / what do the LEDs do?

pianjet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2019, 10:23:45 AM »
I've been trying with a [digitakt - midi keyboard - volca fm ] the led don't light up and my Gecho doesn't receive, [channel #31 - #34 ] from the test channel #3121 and #3122 nothing happened, I reset many times [#4321] and i changed the cable but the problem is the same.
I have the acrylic sandwich, received 2 weeks ago.
Thanks

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2019, 01:53:39 PM »
Thanks for the info. I've got Arturia Keystep and Volca FM, in addition to Modal Craft 2.0 that I use for testing every unit. I'll check again with the other two to see if it behaves differently now in compare to the firmware from a few months ago, when it worked well.

Good that the SIG LED faintly blinks, now you are probably 3rd person with this exact same issue - signal comes in but it is not parsed correctly.
 
Are your devices transmitting on MIDI channel 1? No idea what else it could possibly be, other than problem with the data itself. Or maybe timing, but that would be very weird. If the XTAL oscillator in your Gecho was that much off, to not be able to sync with MIDI data, it would probably not work very well at all - and I would not be able to flash the firmware in the first place.

Any chance you could open a serial console and see the debug info from channel 3121, as discussed here?


pianjet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2019, 03:29:31 PM »
 tt▒480▒s▒▒▒▒sb▒▒▒gb▒▒Fbo▒bboSbf▒▒f▒▒b▒s▒▒▒▒▒▒Gb▒
                                                 w"▒gskKK▒o{{[~▒g▒_▒c▒w_▒cFcFw▒ko+▒▒skjkO▒k▒▒c▒o▒▒kk▒▒▒▒▒▒o▒▒▒k▒o▒▒ck▒▒g▒▒fKo▒fKo▒bcsGbG▒G▒▒c▒c▒R▒▒▒▒c▒▒{▒c▒▒▒k▒▒gKKKK▒kk▒s▒▒▒▒SZo▒g .

Sorry Mario but i have some gaps with putty
anyway only this appears when i set #3121

So sorry :-)

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2019, 04:47:01 PM »
Interesting! :) We are getting somewhere. This looks like a wrong baud rate, is it set to 115200?
What happens / what is printed right after you reset the unit (hold RST for 2 sec)?

pianjet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2019, 10:18:09 AM »
GM Mario ,
is the result of printing : wӒ▒fgFjR▒s▒▒▒▒b▒▒▒gf▒▒Fo▒bfoSbb▒ӂb▒▒b▒s▒▒▒▒r▒▒▒Gbkwb▒gOskKK▒W▒▒[~▒gc_▒c▒w_▒cFw▒kok▒▒skjkOk▒ooo▒kkk▒▒▒▒▒▒o▒▒ooo▒▒k▒�ko3▒o▒ock▒s▒kgg▒▒f▒o▒f▒o▒bc▒GbGGG▒▒c▒c▒R▒k▒▒▒c▒▒{▒c▒▒▒k▒▒g▒gk

and its set to 9600.

Thanks

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2019, 11:24:56 AM »
Try 115200 like shown here.

alefoot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2019, 08:08:11 AM »
As another data point, FWIW, I just tried my diy-cased unit, channel 31, keyboard an old 25 key Oxygen 8. Old skool DIN connect MIDI, not usb. Unhelpfully, it worked first time. - Of course I used the sensors to have the Gecho produce sound in response to my "singing" in to the microphones. Once Gecho was producing a drone, the keyboard had it producing tones and chords. White / blue leds appear to be [more or less] indicating the keys I'm pressing. When I tried to enter chords in channel 111, I got no result. I had wiggled the MIDI pigtail , and 'unmade' the connection. Reseating the TRS into its socket remedied that, and LEDs appeared to be following what I was keying in.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2019, 09:05:26 AM by alefoot »

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Gecho v2 : MIDI In
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2019, 08:33:56 PM »
Good to know that it usually works :) Thanks for confirming. There is a bug in programming with 111, sometimes it detects key release as a new note. It's fixed in 1.0.116 and newer, it will be published shortly.