Author Topic: How to use the magnetic sensor - ring?  (Read 3068 times)

vandb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
How to use the magnetic sensor - ring?
« on: July 15, 2017, 02:34:36 PM »
Hi just wondering. I read that with a magnetic ring you can activate the magnetic sensor.
Two questions:
- is it possible to activate it with any magnet or should you be careful in how strong the magnet is?
- does anyone have a link for buying a magnetic ring which can be used without a problem?

Thanks, Jan

wholeflaffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: How to use the magnetic sensor - ring?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 10:15:56 PM »
I don't know about limits to how much magnetism is safe to apply to the sensor, but I can tell you that I bought two rings from eBay the day I ordered my loopsynth.  From two different vendors I ordered one thicker ring and one thinner one.  Both work just fine.  I don't recall spending much more than USD $1.50 for either one, shipped by slow boat from China.

At this time, it appears that only a select few channels support the magnetic sensor, though. It's probably still considered experimental.  I haven't tried all the published channels with the magnet yet, but most do not respond to it.

mario

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: How to use the magnetic sensor - ring?
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 08:16:29 AM »
The sensor is safe to use with strong magnets, it would need to be a really strong one (or rather an AC field) to damage something - and it would probably damage rest of the electronics as well :)

Stronger magnet will make it possible to control from larger distance, and therefore more precisely.

But the rings work well enough - I tried this one with inscriptions and this one with darker band, they are good, this hematite one is a lot weaker and almost unusable. Haven't tried this one, looks the same as the darker but might be made from different alloy.

UPDATE: The silver and gold ring arrived and work well - they're much stronger than dark one.

Yes from the channels in current beta firmware, only one or two respond to it. The programming channels are broken (sorry, it happened while last-minute refactoring and optimizing other parts of the code, and I've noticed it only after flashing over a hundred boards).
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 11:54:32 PM by mario »

vandb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: How to use the magnetic sensor - ring?
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2017, 07:37:10 PM »
Hi Mario, wholeflaffer, thanks for the response. Will have a look on ebay (or the Dutch equivalent Marktplaats) for those rings.
@Maria, hope you will get some time in the near future to restore the channels. Keep up the good work ; -)

mario

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: How to use the magnetic sensor - ring?
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2017, 12:30:16 PM »
Sure, will get back to that part once all is shipped - would not be fair to delay it, mainly because some backers got it weeks ago while others are still waiting (could go forever, you know, that's how the software is...   ::) )