Author Topic: Sound input issue on gecho v1??  (Read 2407 times)

DavidBrittany

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Sound input issue on gecho v1??
« on: February 16, 2024, 05:43:59 PM »
Hello It's a long time I get the Gecho V1 and it seems that input-line (pickup) has some sound issue...
I explain:
when I plug some device like a pocket operator I hear a big "hum" sound.
I don't remember that in the beginning.
I have put the last firmwire and i have done the reset preset (4321).
But always the same electrical-buzz sound...
On my gecho V2 there is no problem, devices plugged with the same cables and devices are quiet.
Some ideas?
Thanks,
David.

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Sound input issue on gecho v1??
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2024, 06:48:27 PM »
Hi David,
How are you powering it? Any chance there is a ground loop? I guess most likely from batteries but maybe you use ReVolt for PO and then power both devices from USB, that might cause the issue.
The hum may also be caused by low batteries in Gecho, maybe try USB power to see if anything changes.
V1 uses a separate pre-amp while in the V2 input signal goes directly into codec chip, so it's quite normal that the behaviour differs this way.
Feel free to send a short video or audio recording - I might be able to tell more by the character of the sound.
Cheers,
Mario

DavidBrittany

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Sound input issue on gecho v1??
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2024, 07:45:51 PM »
Thank's for your answer, my gecho V1 (wood box) is powered by batteries and you're right, I have just change it and it's work perfectly...

I really feel dumb...But I didn't imagine it could be that. I changed a lot of time batteries in it and I never noticed this sound problem ^^

Gechos are definitively my favorites tiny-swiss-knife-sound-engine!

Cheers!


David.

mario

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Sound input issue on gecho v1??
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2024, 07:13:10 PM »
Glad that this helped! 8) It's a surprising behaviour indeed but it happens because of the analog preamp, which does not operate well with lower batteries - while the rest of the circuit, which is digital, is still fine. It's designed this way, as a low power device it is trying to squeeze most from the batteries, which might still be useful when you don't need microphones. But ideally there should be a low-voltage detect and indicator.